We Are the National Electrical Contractors Association

The Voice of the Electrical Construction Industry. Learn More
Welcome back,

By collective bargaining agreements, labor disputes in the industry are referred to the Council on Industrial Relations and parties to the disputes are pledged to abide by the result of this voluntary arbitration procedure. It hears disputes that cannot be settled locally and makes decisions. As a result of this procedure, millions of dollars in lost wages have been saved for electrical workers and millions of dollars in lost business opportunities have been preserved for electrical contractors.

The Council was founded in 1920, and it is sponsored by the IBEW and NECA. It is composed of a panel of 12 regular members and alternates, half of whom are appointed by each sponsoring organization.

When selecting NECAs appointees to serve on the Council, the President is guided by the recommendations contained in the Board of Governors 1953 Resolution regarding the matter. Experience has shown that the geographical location of members is relatively unimportant. However, a measure of consideration is given to it.

Regular meetings are held quarterly in February, May, August and November, at such times and place as may be selected by its Executive Committee. The Council adopts and publishes its own rules of procedure. It is not subject to the unilateral control of either of its sponsors. When in session, its members are expected to represent the industry, rather than either of the sponsoring organizations.

2019 Council on Industrial Relations

  • David Long, Co-Chair
    Miller Electric Company
    PO Box 1799
    Jacksonville, FL 32201-1799
  • Michael Gilchrist
    Northeastern Line Constructors Chapter
    700 White Plains Rd #271
    Scarsdale, NY 10583-5063
  • John M Grau, Co-Chair
    Chief Executive Officer
    NECA Inc
    3 Bethesda Metro Center #1100
    Bethesda, MD 20814
  • Mark A Kawolsky
    Central Illinois Chapter NECA
    4319 Entec Dr
    Bartonville, IL 61607-2778
  • Kirk Davis , Co-Chair
    Vice President District 3
    Bob Davis Electric Company inc
    401 Sixth St
    Shreveport, LA 71101-4059
  • Don Laffoon
    Kansas City Chapter
    Electrial Corporation of America
    7320 Arlington PO Box 18070
    Raytown, MO 64133-0470
  • Jody Shea, Co-Chair
    Vice President District 10
    Service Electric Company
    1631 E 25th St
    Chattanooga, TN 37404
  • Jeffrey P Scarpello
    Pann-Del-Jesery Chapter NECA
    2003 Renaissance Blvd
    King of Prussia, PA 19406-2746
  • Geary M Higgins, Treasurer
    Vice President, Labor Relations
    NECA Inc
    3 Bethesda Metro Center #1100
    Bethesda, MD 20814
  • Mark Walter
    Northwest Line Constructors Chapter
    Christenson Electrical INC
    17201 NE Sacramento St
    Portland, OR 97230
  • Darran V Ayres
    Missouri Valley Line Constructors Chapter
    J F Electric Inc
    100 Lakefront Parkway PO Box 570
    Edwardsville, IL 62025
  • Jules W Weaver
    Western Line Constructors Chapter
    1275 E Fort Union Blvd #203
    Midvale, UT 84047
  • Martin West
    Northeast Louisana Chapter
    Twin City Electric LLC
    PO Box 1906
    West Monroe , LA 71294-1906
  • Craig Clark
    Rocky Mountain Chapter
    Dynalectric Company
    345 Sheridan Blvd
    Lakewood, CO 80226
  • Shane Snyder (Future Leader)
    Arizona Chapter
    Cannon & Wendt Electric Co Inc
    4020 N 16th St
    Phoenix, AZ 85016-5920
  • Joseph Kellams, Alternate
    Executive Director
    Eastern Region NECA
    2558 Waterbridge Way
    Evansville, IN 47710-3200
  • Steve Krieg, Alternate
    Executive Director
    Midwestern Region NECA
    4100 Edison Lakes Pkwy #170
    Mishawaka, IN 46545-3465
  • Bill C Orgill, Alternate
    Executive Director
    Western Region NECA
    300 Deschutes Way SW Suite 201
    Tumwater, WA 98501-7719
  • Jonathan T Osborn, Alternate
    Executive Director
    Southern Region NECA
    17100 E Shea Blvd Suite 300
    Fountain Hills, AZ 85268-6654